Hitch Hiking With Kamy

As I wrote in the hitchhiking post I linked up a ride from Flagstaff into Texas. I had no idea what I was getting into or who I would be meeting. I have found that when you go in with no expectations that you can’t be let down and that it will usually be way better then anything that you could have imagined it would be. I met Kamy in the parking lot of a Wendy’s off the highway in Flagstaff, Az. When she pulled up we both met each other with giant smiles and i think we both instantly knew we were gonna click. I tossed my backpack into the van and as soon as I sat down she smiled and said plans have changed. I replied, ‘Awesome! No worries.’ Initially there was going to be a van load of people and we were going to have to back track to go to Phoenix to pick someone and cut across the States via Interstate 10. Everyone else flaked, it was just her and I. Instead of back tracking we just hopped on the 40 East and said we would figure out the route as we went along. I explained to her that I had no time frame to be anywhere and that I was up for anything. We did not stop talking, instantly connected and felt like there was nothing we couldn’t say. We quickly decided that we didn’t want to drive any faster then 65 mph and that we would stop anytime either of us felt like it. Kamy is 22 years old now and has lived quiet a adventurous life up to this point. She left home at 19 and hopped on a train not knowing where it was going. Since then she has not stopped traveling the states and recently Mexico. Kamy was schooling me to ways of living on the streets, traveling with no money, and further insight to livin’ individual freedom. I was amazed and intrigued by our conversations and we were both learning and feeding off of each other. As the sun began to set, Kamy walked to the back of the van and came back with a Ukulele. I was stoked, I started screwing around with the Ukulele a few months back and love the sounds that come from it. She began to strum… Then she began to sing. One of the most beautiful live voices I have ever had the pleasure of hearing. She has a back round in opera singing and peppers in a pretty awesome rhyme scheme. We freestyled and freestyled not caring about the miles melting behind us. We found a truck stop outside of Gallup, Nm and decided to call it a day and get some rest. I introduced Kamy to the Snapjudgement podcast, storytelling with a beat. I highly recommend everyone check it out, there are some epic stories of Love, Triumph, Defeat, and everything in between. You can hear some stories on snapjudgment.org. I pulled out my sleeping bag and tried to get comfortable in the space given on the floor of the van. That night it got down to 5 degrees F, I could not get warm to save my life. When we woke up the next morning Kamy said that she has a bad itch to hurry up and get to her girlfriend in New Orleans; so we decided to do shifts and drive straight through the night to Houston, Tx. We mad a few stops along the way to stretch and kept on. The following morning i pulled off into a gas station so I could charge my phone for a bit. While I was in charging my phone Kamy was in the parking lot entertaining herself by juggling, she belongs in the circus forsure and I mean that in the best way. While she is juggling a woman comes up and hands her a $20 Subway gift card and says, ‘I don’t know what you need; but I hope this helps.’ Wow! Kamy just has that kind of magnetic way about her. She truly lives with no worries and is thriving doing it. People are amazing and are full of giving love. Wherever that woman is now, thank you. When I met up with my Army buddy Chase in downtown Houston I chucked my stuff in the back of his truck and excused myself. I walked up to Kamy and gave her a huge and thanked her for the ride and new found friendship. She said she does not except thank you and that it is not necessary. Kamy explained that me riding with her was the chance to learn from me and teach me and that was all the thanks that she needed. I will see her again when I get to New Orleans. I can’t wait

One thought on “Hitch Hiking With Kamy

Leave a Reply

